2009 Crystal Apple Awards Announced by Yakima Public Schools - NBC Right Now/KNDO/KNDU Tri-Cities, Yakima, WA |

2009 Crystal Apple Awards Announced by Yakima Public Schools

Posted: Updated:

YAKIMA, Wash. - The Yakima School District announced Tuesday winners of this year's Crystal Apple Awards.

None of the six teachers knew they were receiving the award until they walked into a room full of family, friends and colleagues Tuesday morning.  This is the 22nd year of the award, it is meant to recognize those who positively impact students in school and their futures. 

Ernesto Sanchez is a teacher at Washington Middle School.  He says he was surprised and honored to receive a 2009 Crystal Apple Awards.

"I think it's something that's pretty special," he said.  "I could think of a lot of other teachers that are deserving of the award and it just means a lot to have somebody recognize the work that you are doing in the classroom."

Each winner will receive $1,000 and a crystal apple.  The committee who selects the winners is made up of members of local businesses, public organizations, parents groups, and other members of the district.

2009 Crystal Apple Award Winners:


Christina Carlson & Cindy Rockholt

Discovery Lab School


Jerry Cole

Davis High School


Ismael Flores

Washington Middle School


Diann Rockstrom

Wilson Middle School / Eisenhower High School


Ernesto Sanchez

Washington Middle School