Bighill is GNAC Defensive Co-Player of the Year - NBC Right Now/KNDO/KNDU Tri-Cities, Yakima, WA |

Bighill is GNAC Defensive Co-Player of the Year

Posted: Updated:
SPOKANE, Wash. (Nov. 15) -- Central Washington University senior linebacker Adam Bighill (Montesano, Wash.) was named the Great Northwest Athletic Conference Co-Defensive Player of the Year, highlighting three specialty award winners and seven total first-team all-conference football selections for the Wildcats, as announced Monday by the conference office.

Bighill shared the award with Western Oregon defensive back Caleb Singleton, leading a Wildcat defense that was dominant in its final five games, allowing a grand total of 86 yards rushing (17.2 per game) and less than a yard per carry (0.65 on 132 total carries) over that span. Bighill finished second in the GNAC in tackles (8.7 per game) and was the conference leader in tackles for losses with 16 1/2.

Also earning specialty awards from the conference for CWU were senior defensive tackle Eugene Germany (Pomona, Calif.) and freshman safety Stan Langlow (University Place, Wash./Curtis HS), who were selected as the Defensive Lineman and co-Freshman of the Year, respectively. Germany led the conference in sacks with 6 1/2 and ranked fourth in tackles for losses with 11, while Langlow led the GNAC with seven interceptions, and tied in the Freshman of the Year balloting with Dixie State quarterback Cody Stevenson.

Humboldt State running back Lyndon Rowells, who led the conference in rushing (1,309 yards), all-purpose running (1,600 yards) and scoring (102 points) and Lumberjack coach Rob Smith, who has resurrected a program that had had only one winning season in the previous seven years before he took over, were selected the Offensive Player  of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively.

The Coach of the Year award is the eighth for Smith, who also won the GNAC Coach of the Year award in 2001 and 2003 and the Columbia Football Association Coach-of-the-Year award in 1989, 1995, 1996, 1999 and 2000 while coaching Western Washington. Smith, a 1981 graduate of the University of Washington, has a career record of 124-79 in 20 seasons, including 15-17 in three campaigns at Humboldt.

Rowells was also a unanimous selection as the GNAC Newcomer of the Year, while Humboldt State center Taylor Boggs, who led the blocking for Rowells, appropriately enough, was selected the GNAC Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Humboldt State placed eight players and Central Washington and Western Oregon each had seven selections on the 29-man first-team all-conference squad, reflecting the closeness of the conference standings, which was won by CWU in a three-team, late-season race.

Seven of the first team selections were repeaters including Boggs, Singleton and Dixie State defensive end Nick Rocco who each earned first team honors for the third year in a row. Other repeaters from the 2009 first team included Germany and three more players from Dixie State -- offensive lineman Braeden Dillon, linebacker Keauntea Bankhead and punter Mike Langston.

A total of 14 of the first-team selections were unanimous, including seven on offense and seven on defense.

Unanimous picks on offense were Rowells, Boggs, Humboldt State quarterback Mike Proulx, Central Washington running back Bryson Kelly (Mukilteo, Wash./Kamiak HS) and offensive linemen Jason Slowey of Western Oregon, freshman Mike Nelson (Carnation, Wash./Mount Si HS) from Central Washington and Dillon from Dixie State.

Unanimous defensive picks were Rocco, Germany, Bighill, Bankhead, Singleton, Langston, and Humboldt State defensive lineman Andrew Iupati.

Nelson was one of only three freshmen selected to the first team. The others were Western Oregon defensive lineman Gustave John Benthin and Wolf punt returner Lucas Gonsalves.
Offensive Player of the Year: Lyndon Rowells, Jr., Humboldt State
Offensive Lineman of the Year: Taylor Boggs, Sr., Humboldt State
Co-Defensive Player of the Year: Adam Bighill, Sr., Central Washington and Caleb Singleton, Sr., Western Oregon
Defensive Lineman of the Year: Eugene Germany, Sr., Central Washington
Newcomer of the Year: Lyndon Rowells, Jr., Humboldt State
Co-Freshman of the Year: Stan Langlow, Central Washington and Cody Stevenson, Humboldt State
Coach of the Year: Rob Smith, Humboldt State

Quarterback: Mike Proulx, Jr., Humboldt State.
Running Back: Lyndon Rowells, Jr., Humboldt State; Bryson Kelly, Sr., Central Washington.
Wide Receiver: Justin Ore, Sr., Western Oregon; Demario Ballard, Sr., Western Oregon; Nash Fowler, Sr., Dixie State.
Tight End: Demetrius Guice, Jr., Central Washington
Offensive Line: Taylor Boggs, Sr., Humboldt State; Jason Slowey, Jr., Western Oregon; Kris Gluppe, Jr., Simon Fraser; Mike Nelson, Fr., Central Washington; Braeden Dillon, Sr., Dixie State.
Kicker: Sean Davis, So., Central Washington.
Kick Returner: Pat Gondkoff, So., Humboldt State.

Defensive Line: Nick Rocco, Sr., Dixie State; Eugene Germany, Sr., Central Washington; Andrew Iupati, Jr., Humboldt State; Justin Hornsby, Sr., Humboldt State; Gustave John Benthin, Fr., Western Oregon.
Linebacker: Adam Bighill, Sr., Central Washington; Keauntea Bankhead, Sr., Dixie State; Paul Wright, Sr., Central Washington; Chris Peterson, So., Humboldt State.
Defensive Back: Caleb Singleton, Sr., Western Oregon; Elzie Gatson, Sr., Humboldt State; Bryce Peila, So., Western Oregon; Marc DesLauriers, Sr., Simon Fraser.
Punter: Mike Langston, Sr., Dixie State.
Punt Returner: Lucas Gonsalves, Fr., Western Oregon.

Quarterback: Ryan Robertson, So., Central Washington.
Running Back: Darryl Valdez, Sr., Western Oregon; Gabe Ephard, So., Simon Fraser; Daniel Wyatt, So., Humboldt State.
Wide Receiver: Pat Gondkoff, So., Humboldt State; Chris Smith, Sr., Central Washington; Kollin Hancock, Sr., Central Washington.
Tight End: Matt Devlin, Sr., Humboldt State; Alex Nelsen, Sr., Dixie State.
Offensive Line: Kevin Brockman, Jr., Western Oregon; Kendall Perkins, Fr., Dixie State; Riordan Gomez, Sr., Humboldt State; Joey Tivnan, So., Central Washington.
Kicker: Kelly Morgan, So., Western Oregon.
Kick Returner: Lucas Gonsalves, Fr., Western Oregon.

Defensive Line: Taylor Tanasse, Jr., Central Washington; Andrew Oney, Jr., Central Washington; Levi Smith, Jr., Western Oregon; Gavin Drake, So., Western Oregon; Justin Capicciotti, Jr., Simon Fraser.
Linebacker: Nick Cragin, Sr., Dixie State; Scotland Foss, So., Western Oregon; Jonathon Faraimo, Jr., Humboldt State; Jared Silva-Purcell, Sr., Central Washington; Adam Berger, Fr., Simon Fraser.
Defensive Back: Jordan McGowan-Smith, Jr., Humboldt State; Eddie Umeh, Sr., Humboldt State; Nigel Palma, Jr., Simon Fraser; Dominique Gaisie, Jr., Central Washington; Stan Langlow, Fr., Central Washington.
Punter: Kyle Petersen, Sr., Central Washington.
Punt Returner: Dominique Gaisie, Jr., Central Washington.