One of Hanford's ionic symbols is destroyed - NBC Right Now/KNDO/KNDU Tri-Cities, Yakima, WA |

One of Hanford's ionic symbols is destroyed

Posted: Updated:

NEAR RICHLAND, Wash.— One of Hanford's iconic symbols was destroyed over the weekend.

The dome from the test reactor in Hanford's 300 Area has been removed.  It's part of the cleanup process at Hanford.

In 1944 more than 300 buildings were on the 300 Area.  Now less than two-dozen support facilities are standing. 

The dome is about 67-tons and is made of a ¼-inch-thick steel plate that sits on the cement walls.  Inside the facility was the Plutonium Recycle Test Reactor.

"The dome has been an iconic symbol of the Hanford's 300 Area for many years, since the 1960's, so with that being gone it really changes the sky scope, Mark French, Federal Project Director."

The next step is to cut up the dome, remove the walls and the test reactor.  All the materials will be taken to Hanford's onsite Environmental Restoration Disposal Facility.

HD DOPPLER 6i
/