Four New Members Inducted into Mid-Columbia Ag Hall of Fame - NBC Right Now/KNDO/KNDU Tri-Cities, Yakima, WA |

Four New Members Inducted into Mid-Columbia Ag Hall of Fame

Posted: Updated:

Pasco, Wash. - Agriculture is a driving force in Washington state, making up more than ten percent of the state's economy.

On Thursday night, four of the Mid-Columbia's ag leaders were honored for their efforts.

Hundreds of farmers, and others in the ag community, gathered at the Pasco Red Lion Thursday night for the Mid-Columbia Ag Hall of Fame awards.

Dan Newhouse, the state's Director of Agriculture delivered the keynote address.  Newhouse pointed to the efforts of Ben and Alma Grant, who were honored as this year's Pioneer Award winners, saying they are a shining example of what the farming industry is all about.

"People like them are tremendously valuable and show us that kind of leadership, and innovation, and helping neighbors is truly what this is all about," Newhouse said.

Also on Thursday night, longtime 4-H volunteer Lana Cline received the Agriculture Mentor Leadership award. Jared Balcom was also honored as the Agribusiness Man of the Year, and CBC President Richard Cummins was presented with the Visionary award.