University Of Idaho's Barone WAC Player Of The Year - NBC Right Now/KNDO/KNDU Tri-Cities, Yakima, WA |

University Of Idaho's Barone WAC Player Of The Year

DENVER – Kyle Barone can add Western Athletic Conference Player of the Year to the resume he has been building throughout his four-year career on the Idaho men's basketball team, as the 6-foot-10 senior was voted the league's best by the 10 head coaches, the WAC announced today.

Barone led the WAC in both scoring and rebounding with 18.2 points and 10.9 rebounds per game in WAC games. He was second in the league with a 58.3 field goal percentage, fourth with an 80.9 free throw percentage, and eighth with 1.1 blocks per game. He is the first Idaho player to earn WAC Player of the Year honors.

The center from Garden Grove, Calif., scored a career-high 27 points twice in 2012-13, racked up 16 double-doubles, scored 20 or more points nine times and had 20-point, 10-rebound efforts on eight occasions. His 59.0 field goal percentage for the season is the eighth-best single-season total in school history, and his 155 free throws made entering next week's WAC tournament are the fourth-most.

Barone has never missed a game in his four-year career, and is Idaho's career-leader with 125 games played. His 1,414 career points rank fourth in program history, his 864 career rebounds rank second, just 13 shy of all-time leader Deon Watson.

Barone, a two-time WAC Player of the Week in 2012-13, was also a first-team All-WAC pick and was the only Idaho player selected to the All-WAC teams. He was a second-team All-WAC selection in 2011-12 and an All-WAC honorable mention in 2010-11.

Joining Barone on the first-team All-WAC are Denver's Chris Udofia, New Mexico State's Bandja Sy and  Raheem Appleby and Kenneth Smith from Louisiana Tech.

This year's all-WAC second team consists of Denver's Chase Hallam, New Mexico State's Daniel Mullings, Texas State's Joel Wright and Utah State's Spencer Butterfield and Jarred Shaw.

The all-WAC third team consists of Denver's Brett Olson and Royce O'Neale, New Mexico State's Sim Bhullar, UT Arlington's Kevin Butler and UTSA's Michael Hale III.

New Mexico State's Bhullar becomes the first Aggie in school history to earn the WAC's Freshman of the Year award. In 18 conference games, Bhullar averaged 11.3 points per contest, 7.3 rebounds and 3.0 blocks per game, while shooting 60.2 percent from the field.

Louisiana Tech head coach Michael White earned his first Don Haskins Coach of the Year honor by leading the Bulldogs to a share of the school's first-ever regular season WAC title. In his second year with Louisiana Tech, White led the Bulldogs to a 16-2 conference record.  Coach White is the first Louisiana Tech coach in school history to receive WAC Coach of the Year honors.

Those named to the WAC's all-defensive team were Denver's Hallam and Udofia, Louisiana Tech's Michale Kyser and Smith and New Mexico State's Mullings.

Selected to the WAC's all-newcomer team were Louisiana Tech's Alex Hamilton, New Mexico State's Bhullar, Texas State's Wright and Utah State's Butterfield and Shaw.

The 2013 WAC Tournament will be held March 12-16, at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas, Nev. Idaho, the No. 6 seed in the tournament, will take on No. 3 New Mexico State at 11 a.m. (PT) on March 14.

Article Courtesy of The University Of Idaho

  • College

    • Cougs complete comeback to beat Saint Joseph's 75-71

      Flynn hit a go-ahead 3-pointer with 5 seconds remaining, lifting WSU to a 75-71 victory over Saint Joseph's after the Cougars rallied from a 20-point first-half deficit.

    • Idaho beats Santa Clara to advance in Great Alaska Shootout

      It took another come-from-behind effort but Idaho got it done in the first round of the Great Alaska Shootout, defeating Santa Clara 69-59.

    • Eagles roll past Eastern Kentucky 83-62

      Eastern Washington held the Colonels to 34.5 percent shooting from the field in improving to 3-3 on the season.

    • Eagles lose big to No. 10 Oregon, 81-40

      Eastern struggled from field goal range, only shooting 30.2% on the night while the Ducks shot 58%.

    • Alex Grinch named Broyles Award semifinalist

      Grinch, in his third year as the Cougars defensive coordinator, has taken the WSU defense into elite status. WSU enters the week No. 11 in the country in total defense (303.8).

    • Cougars to face Huskies in 2017 Apple Cup Saturday

      Washington State is 9-2 for the first time since 2003 and is looking for its fifth 10-win season in program history (1997, 2001, 2002, 2003).

    • EWU Athletic Director Bill Chaves joins SWX Tonight after playoff snub

      Despite being ranked 19th in the STATS FCS rankings, Eastern Washington fell short of and FCS Tournament berth. On Monday, just over 24 hours after the snub, Eagle Athletic Director Bill Chaves joined SWX Tonight to talk about missing the playoffs, recap Aaron Best's first year at the helm and take a look at the university's basketball programs.

    • Press Pass Pullman: Apple Cup Week

      In this week's episode of Press Pass Pullman, Mike Leach tackles important topics like how to win your family Thanksgiving football game. Before that, he talks about preparing for the Huskies with a bye week, Jake Browning, and playoffs. In the (extended) 'Fan Question of the Week,' he touches on holiday traditions, turducken, and which states are his favorite and least favorite. Theo Lawson also joins the show to discuss this year's UW squad and last year's Apple Cup.

    • Super 8 Plays of the Week 11/20

      Check out the football championship edition of our Super 8 Plays of the Week.

    • Eags fall short against Georgia State in MGM Resorts Main Event opener

      Eagle head coach Shantay Legans knew the Panthers were going to be a handful for his road-weary team, and a valiant defensive effort in the first half and game-ending 11-1 run by EWU wasn't enough.