UPDATE: Cardinals Celebrate Mass Before Entering Conclave; Await - NBC Right Now/KNDO/KNDU Tri-Cities, Yakima, WA |

UPDATE: Cardinals Celebrate Mass Before Entering Conclave; Awaiting White Smoke

Posted: Updated:

VATICAN CITY (AP) - Cardinals at the Vatican have celebrated a final Mass before they sequester themselves in the Sistine Chapel to begin selecting a new pope.
    
Cardinal Angelo Sodano, the dean of the College of Cardinals, delivered today's homily, calling for unity within the church.
    
When he mentioned the name of the former pope Benedict, he was interrupted by applause from people in the pews.

 TODAY'S SCHEDULE:

- 10 a.m.-11:45 a.m. (5 a.m.-6:45 a.m. EDT; 0900-1045 GMT): Cardinals attend Mass in St Peter's Basilica, then return to their Vatican hotel.
    
- 3:45 p.m. (10:45 a.m. EDT; 1445 GMT): Cardinals travel from their hotel to the Apostolic Palace.
    
- 4:30 p.m. (11:30 a.m. EDT; 1530 GMT): Procession from the Pauline Chapel into the Sistine Chapel.
    
- 4:45 p.m.-8 p.m. (11:45 a.m.-3 p.m. EDT; 1545-1900 GMT): Each cardinal takes an oath, most likely followed by the first vote. If the vote yields a new pope, white smoke will emerge from the chimney; if not the smoke will be black.
    
- 8 p.m. (3 p.m. EDT; 1900 GMT): Cardinals pray in the Sistine Chapel.
    
- 8:30 p.m. (3:30 p.m. EDT; 1930 GMT): Cardinals return to their hotel.
    
WEDNESDAY AND ONWARD
    
- 7:45 a.m. (2:45 a.m. EDT; 0645 GMT): Cardinals travel to the Pauline Chapel.
    
- 8:15 a.m. (3:15 a.m. EDT; 0715 GMT): Mass in the Pauline Chapel.
    
- 9:30 a.m. (4:30 a.m. EDT; 0830 GMT): Prayer in the Sistine Chapel, voting starts.
    
- 12:30 p.m. (7:30 a.m. EDT; 1130 GMT): Cardinals retire to their hotel for lunch.
    
- 4 p.m. (11 a.m. EDT; 1500 GMT): Cardinals return to the Sistine Chapel.
    
- 4:50 p.m. (11:50 a.m. EDT; 1540 GMT): Voting in the Sistine Chapel.
    
- 7:15 p.m. (2:15 p.m. EDT; 1815 GMT): Prayer in the Sistine Chapel.
    
- 7:30 p.m. (2:30 p.m. EDT; 1830 GMT): Cardinals return to their hotel.
    
PAUSES
    
After three full days of voting, the cardinals break for a day of prayer and reflection, then resume for another seven ballots. The first pause will be on Saturday if no pope has been selected before that.
    
THE SMOKE
    
Smoke will emerge from the chimney once at the end of the morning session - about 12 p.m. (7 a.m. EDT; 1100 GMT) - and again at the end of the afternoon session - about 7 p.m. (2 p.m. EDT; 1800 GMT). But if an earlier vote yields a pope, white smoke would emerge at that time, ending the conclave.
    
Once white smoke emerges from the chimney, a bell at the St. Peter's Basilica rings. Within an hour, the man who was selected emerges onto the balcony and his identity is known.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

HD DOPPLER 6i
/
  • National NewsMore>>

  • The Latest: Students, teachers return to Florida high school

    The Latest: Students, teachers return to Florida high school

    Sunday, February 25 2018 4:19 PM EST2018-02-25 21:19:24 GMT

    PARKLAND, Fla. (AP) - The Latest on the law enforcement response after a deadly school shooting in Florida (all times local):  3:40 p.m.    Thousands of students and their parents are returning to a Florida high school to find out what will happen when they return to school on Wednesday. The meeting Sunday with teachers and administrators at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School is expected to last a couple of hours. Junior Sebastian Pena said before go...

    More >>

    PARKLAND, Fla. (AP) - The Latest on the law enforcement response after a deadly school shooting in Florida (all times local):  3:40 p.m.    Thousands of students and their parents are returning to a Florida high school to find out what will happen when they return to school on Wednesday. The meeting Sunday with teachers and administrators at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School is expected to last a couple of hours. Junior Sebastian Pena said before go...

    More >>
  • Woman arrested with 35 pounds of drugs tells police ‘I was offered an opportunity’

    Woman arrested with 35 pounds of drugs tells police ‘I was offered an opportunity’

    Sunday, February 25 2018 4:07 PM EST2018-02-25 21:07:44 GMT
    Utah County Sheriff's OfficeUtah County Sheriff's Office
    Utah County Sheriff's OfficeUtah County Sheriff's Office

    UTAH COUNTY - A Utah woman who was arrested and found to have 35 pounds of methamphetamine and cocaine in her vehicle told police officers “I am just a single mom and I was offered an opportunity.” According to a statement of probable cause, things began with a traffic stop on I-15 Friday. Fox 13 reports that a Sgt. with the Utah County Sheriff’s Office pulled Jossie Y. Ricks over after she went 81 in a 75 mph zone and failed to signal for a turn.

    More >>

    UTAH COUNTY - A Utah woman who was arrested and found to have 35 pounds of methamphetamine and cocaine in her vehicle told police officers “I am just a single mom and I was offered an opportunity.” According to a statement of probable cause, things began with a traffic stop on I-15 Friday. Fox 13 reports that a Sgt. with the Utah County Sheriff’s Office pulled Jossie Y. Ricks over after she went 81 in a 75 mph zone and failed to signal for a turn.

    More >>
  • 99-year-old woman held hostage says she helped calm the suspect prior to his surrender

    99-year-old woman held hostage says she helped calm the suspect prior to his surrender

    Sunday, February 25 2018 3:33 PM EST2018-02-25 20:33:35 GMT
    foxedgefoxedge

    WEST VALLEY CITY, Utah -  A 99-year-old woman who was held hostage for several hours in West Valley City, Utah early Saturday morning shared her experience with Fox 13 after the suspect's arrest. Unified Police arrested 18-year-old Freddy Alexander Velasquez after a SWAT standoff. Officers tell Fox 13 that they had approached Velasquez earlier on, but he held a gun to his head and ran into a nearby home to hide. The home he chose 

    More >>

    WEST VALLEY CITY, Utah -  A 99-year-old woman who was held hostage for several hours in West Valley City, Utah early Saturday morning shared her experience with Fox 13 after the suspect's arrest. Unified Police arrested 18-year-old Freddy Alexander Velasquez after a SWAT standoff. Officers tell Fox 13 that they had approached Velasquez earlier on, but he held a gun to his head and ran into a nearby home to hide. The home he chose 

    More >>
  • Top Stories from KHQHomeMore>>

  • The Latest: Students, teachers return to Florida high school

    The Latest: Students, teachers return to Florida high school

    Sunday, February 25 2018 4:19 PM EST2018-02-25 21:19:24 GMT

    PARKLAND, Fla. (AP) - The Latest on the law enforcement response after a deadly school shooting in Florida (all times local):  3:40 p.m.    Thousands of students and their parents are returning to a Florida high school to find out what will happen when they return to school on Wednesday. The meeting Sunday with teachers and administrators at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School is expected to last a couple of hours. Junior Sebastian Pena said before go...

    More >>

    PARKLAND, Fla. (AP) - The Latest on the law enforcement response after a deadly school shooting in Florida (all times local):  3:40 p.m.    Thousands of students and their parents are returning to a Florida high school to find out what will happen when they return to school on Wednesday. The meeting Sunday with teachers and administrators at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School is expected to last a couple of hours. Junior Sebastian Pena said before go...

    More >>
  • Woman arrested with 35 pounds of drugs tells police ‘I was offered an opportunity’

    Woman arrested with 35 pounds of drugs tells police ‘I was offered an opportunity’

    Sunday, February 25 2018 4:07 PM EST2018-02-25 21:07:44 GMT
    Utah County Sheriff's OfficeUtah County Sheriff's Office
    Utah County Sheriff's OfficeUtah County Sheriff's Office

    UTAH COUNTY - A Utah woman who was arrested and found to have 35 pounds of methamphetamine and cocaine in her vehicle told police officers “I am just a single mom and I was offered an opportunity.” According to a statement of probable cause, things began with a traffic stop on I-15 Friday. Fox 13 reports that a Sgt. with the Utah County Sheriff’s Office pulled Jossie Y. Ricks over after she went 81 in a 75 mph zone and failed to signal for a turn.

    More >>

    UTAH COUNTY - A Utah woman who was arrested and found to have 35 pounds of methamphetamine and cocaine in her vehicle told police officers “I am just a single mom and I was offered an opportunity.” According to a statement of probable cause, things began with a traffic stop on I-15 Friday. Fox 13 reports that a Sgt. with the Utah County Sheriff’s Office pulled Jossie Y. Ricks over after she went 81 in a 75 mph zone and failed to signal for a turn.

    More >>
  • Florida to probe response to school shooting

    Florida to probe response to school shooting

    Sunday, February 25 2018 4:03 PM EST2018-02-25 21:03:05 GMT
    Sheriff Scott IsraelSheriff Scott Israel

    PARKLAND, Fla. (AP) - Florida House Speaker Richard Corcoran and 73 other state lawmakers have asked Gov. Rick Scott to suspend a sheriff for incompetence and neglect of duty in the aftermath of this month's high school massacre.    In a letter sent Sunday, Corcoran wrote that Broward County Sheriff Scott Israel "failed to maintain a culture of alertness, vigilance, and thoroughness among his deputies."

    More >>

    PARKLAND, Fla. (AP) - Florida House Speaker Richard Corcoran and 73 other state lawmakers have asked Gov. Rick Scott to suspend a sheriff for incompetence and neglect of duty in the aftermath of this month's high school massacre.    In a letter sent Sunday, Corcoran wrote that Broward County Sheriff Scott Israel "failed to maintain a culture of alertness, vigilance, and thoroughness among his deputies."

    More >>