OSAA honors Mac-Hi athletes for sportsmanship - NBC Right Now/KNDO/KNDU Tri-Cities, Yakima, WA |

OSAA honors Mac-Hi athletes for sportsmanship

Posted: Updated:

From Milton-Freewater Unified School District

MILTON-FREEWATER – McLoughlin High School has received the first-ever Oregon School Activities Association (OSAA) Sportsmanship Award for Class 4A for 2012-2013.

OSAA announced today the winners of the first annual award that honors districts from each class division for their students' sportsmanship over the course of the school year. Each OSAA regular district was asked to nominate a school within their district that displayed the best sportsmanship throughout the year. A selection committee – comprised of the Oregon Athletic Directors Association (OADA) Executive Board, an Oregon Athletic Officials Association (OAOA) Executive Board member, and an OSAA representative – then reviewed league submissions and nomination forms to determine classification winners.

"The District is delighted to be honored by OSAA," said Interim Superintendent Jim Reger. "Our community should be proud of our students for the sportsmanship and class they've shown through their athletics and activities this year."

The Sportsmanship Award winners demonstrated exemplary behavior as athletes, coaches, fans and community members over the course of the 2012-2013 school year. Award winners will receive a banner to hang in their school along with a $1,000 check from the OSAA.

The full list of OSAA Sportsmanship Award winners for 2012-2013 is:

6A – Canby High School

5A – Hood River Valley High School

4A – McLoughlin High School (Milton-Freewater)

3A – Illinois Valley High School (Cave Junction)

2A – Western Mennonite High School (Salem)

1A – Imbler High School