EWU's Hill Lands On Watch List - NBC Right Now/KNDO/KNDU Tri-Cities, Yakima, WA |

EWU's Hill Lands On Watch List


Courtesy Eastern Washington athletics

Just a few days before Big Sky Conference preseason predictions are announced, Eastern Washington University sophomore kickoff returner Shaquille Hill has been selected to the watch list for the 2013 College Football Performance Awards Kickoff Returner Award in the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision.

This weekend, Eastern head coach Beau Baldwin and senior safety Allen Brown head to Park City, Utah, for the 2013 Big Sky Conference Summer Football Kickoff. On Monday (July 15), the preseason all-conference team will be announced, and on Tuesday the preseason media and coaches polls will be disclosed.

Hill, who is from Stockton, Calif., had a sensational debut season for the Eagles. He was a member of the College Sports Journal Freshman All-America team and earned honorable mention All-Big Sky Conference honors in 2012.

Hill had a 99-yard kickoff return for a touchdown against North Dakota (10/6/12) and finished ranked 17th in FCS with an average of 26.8 yards per kickoff return. On EWU's single season leaders lists, he finished the 2012 season ranked in the top 10 in kickoff returns (third, 34), kickoff return yards (second, 912) and kickoff return average (10th, 26.8).

As a team, Eastern was 14th in FCS with a 23.5 average, as Cory Mitchell added a non-scoring 67-yard return in the Illinois State (12/8/12) game.

Previously this summer, four other Eagles were selected to CFPA watch lists, including Jake Miller, Ronnie Hamlin, T.J. Lee and Vernon Adams Jr. Miller, a junior out of Spokane's Central Valley High School, was named to the watch list for the CFPA punter Award. Hamlin and Lee -- both All-Americans for the Eagles a year ago -- were selected to the lists for linebacker and defensive back awards, respectively. Hamlin is a senior from Lacey, Wash., who graduated from Timberline High School in 2009, and Lee graduated the same year from West Seattle High School.

Adams was selected to the watch list for the CFPA Quarterback Award after earning Freshman All-America accolades in 2012. Miller was a Freshman All-American in 2011.

Eastern Washington players have earned CFPA honors in three consecutive seasons: Taiwan Jones (2010 CFPA Running Back Award), Bo Levi Mitchell (2011 CFPA Elite Quarterback Award), and Brandon Kaufman (2012 CFPA Wide Receiver Award). Jones is also the featured FCS Awards recipient on the cover of the CFPA Official Website.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

Currently, there are 111 CFPA recipients listed on official 2013 NFL rosters. More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

For more information, visit the Official CFPA Website (http://www.collegefootballperformance.com). Follow CFPA on Twitter @CFPerformance.


Kevin Chillis, Albany
Chris Nicholls, Cal Poly
Kirby Schoenthaler, Dartmouth
Michael Johnson, Delaware
Ryan Ho, Duquesne
Shaquille Hill, Eastern Washington
Jorrian Washington, Hampton
Tanner Riley, Indiana State
Gabriel Chambers, Jacksonville State
Kevin Johnson, Lamar
Cyrus Strahm, Morehead State
Chris Flowers, Morgan State
Duane Brady, Murray State
Julian Stafford, MVSU
Wes Smith, Northern Iowa
Ed Eagan, Northwestern State
Eric Fiore, Pennsylvania
Johnta Hebert, Prairie View A&M
Anthony Gaffney, Princeton
Justin Grant, Richmond
Xavier Roberson, Southeastern Louisiana
Josh Smith, Southern Utah
De'Vante Lacy, Stephen F. Austin
Dane Domonkos, St. Francis (PA)
Ladarius Vanlier, Tennessee Tech
Derrick Joseph, Towson
Jonathan Perkins, UC Davis
Kevin Barfield, UT-Martin
Otis Wright, Wagner
Cordero Dixon, Weber State

  • College

    • Washington State ranked No. 24 in AP preseason poll

      The Washington State football team will begin the season with a No. 24 ranking in the 2017 Associated Press preseason poll, released Monday. The Cougars' are one of four Pac-12 teams ranked in the Top 25 and it marks the third time in the history of the Associated Press poll.

    • Defense dominates in Eastern's first Fall scrimmage

      There were only compliments being passed around after Eastern Washington University defensive units held EWU's vaunted offense without a touchdown in EWU's 72-play scrimmage Saturday at Roos Field.

    • Griz offense shines in second scrimmage of fall camp

      The Montana Grizzly defense might have stolen the show last week in the first scrimmage of fall camp. But the offense would not be denied Saturday as they racked up 24 first downs and nearly 400 yards of total offense.  

    • Vandals to host open scrimmage on Saturday

      Idaho football will wrap up fall camp Saturday (Aug. 19), with a scrimmage at 10 a.m. in the Kibbie Dome. The scrimmage is open to the public and will be the final chance for fans to see the Vandals in action before the season opener Aug. 31, against Sacramento State.
    • Danielle Mauldin joins Eagles women's basketball coaching staff

      Mauldin is Saint Mary's and the West Coast Conference's all-time leading rebounder with 1,282 over four years and also set a SMC program record for double-doubles.

    • Zags women’s soccer home match versus BYU on ESPNU

      Gonzaga will host preseason No. 8 BYU from Luger Field in a meeting that will have first-year GU head coach Chris Watkins facing his former school.

    • Gonzaga women's soccer begins regular season Friday

      The Zags are unbeaten in their last five season-openers, dating back to the 3-1 win over South Dakota in 2012. GU beat Nevada in Hawaii in last season’s opener, 1-0.

    • Jake Browning named to Manning Award watch list

      Browning was named the Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year and finished sixth in the Heisman Trophy voting after passing for 3,430 yards and a Pac-12, record-tying 43 touchdowns in 2016.

    • Vandals QB Linehan named to Manning Award watch list

      Linehan threw for 3,184 yards and 19 touchdowns as a junior, earning second-team All-Sun Belt honors. He also went on to capture the Famous Idaho Potato Bowl Most Valuable Player award, after leading the Vandals to a win over Colorado State.

    • Luke Falk named to Manning Award watch list

      Falk, a redshirt-senior, was also finalist for the Johnny Unitas Award and a semifinalist for the Davey O'Brien Award and Maxwell Award last season after throwing for the third-most yards in the country (4,468) and tying his own school-record with 38 touchdown passes.