EWU Men's Basketball Honored For Academics - NBC Right Now/KNDO/KNDU Tri-Cities, Yakima, WA |

EWU Men's Basketball Honored For Academics


Courtesy Eastern Washington athletics

The Eastern Washington University men's basketball team is among the 96 schools nationally to receive the inaugural Team Academic Excellence Award from the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC). The recipients of the award, which was created by the NABC Committee on Academics, were announced Thursday (July 18).

The award recognizes outstanding academic achievement by teams with a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 or better for the 2012-13 season. In order to earn a NABC Team Academic Excellence Award, an institution must count the grade point averages of all men's student-athletes competing during the 2012-13 season in NCAA Division I, II, III, and NAIA Division I and II.

Following the spring academic quarter at EWU, Eastern's men's basketball players have an average cumulative grade point average of 3.35, and a quarterly GPA of 3.28. In fact, all of Eastern's sports programs boast an average cumulative GPA above 3.0, with a collective grade point average of 3.27. In spring quarter, Eastern student-athletes had a collective 3.20 GPA.

Coached by head coach Jim Hayford, members of the 2012-13 team included Collin Chiverton, Ivan Dorsey, Jeffrey Forbes, Tyler Harvey, Jordan Hickert, Daniel Hill, Venky Jois, Frederik Jorg, Parker Kelly, Thomas Reuter, Martin Seiferth and Kevin Winford, with Danny Powell and Garrett Moon redshirting.

On July 17, Winford and Hickert were honored on the NABC Honors Court. Those two players, plus Dorsey, Harvey, Hill, Kelly, Jois, Jorg and Reuter, were also honored on the Big Sky Conference All-Academic team for the 2012-13 season.


About the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC)

Located in Kansas City, Missouri, the NABC was founded in 1927 by Phog Allen, the legendary basketball coach at the University of Kansas. Allen, a student of James Naismith, the inventor of basketball, organized coaches into this collective group to serve as Guardians of the Game. The NABC currently has nearly 5,000 members consisting primarily of university and college men's basketball coaches. All members of the NABC are expected to uphold the core values of being a Guardian of the Game by bringing attention to the positive aspects of the sport of basketball and the role coaches play in the academic and athletic lives of today's student-athletes. The four core values of being a Guardian of the Game are advocacy, leadership, service and education. For additional information about the NABC, its programs and membership, go to www.nabc.org.



2012-13 NABC Team Academic Excellence Awards

University of Alabama in Huntsville
Alma College
American University
Arcadia University
Ashford University
Augsburg College
Augustana College
Baker University
Belmont University
Beloit College
Bucknell University
Caldwell College
California Institute of Technology
University of California, San Diego
Capital University
Carnegie Mellon University
Case Western Reserve University
The Catholic University of America
Cedarville University
Chapman University
University of Chicago
The Citadel
Coe College
Colorado Christian University
Colorado College
Colorado School of Mines
University of Denver
Dominican University (IL)
Dominican University (CA)
Eastern Washington University
Endicott College
Fort Lewis College
Georgia College & State University
Greenville College
Grinnell College
Hope College
Illinois Wesleyan University
Indiana State University
Johns Hopkins University
Kalamazoo College
Kansas Wesleyan University
University of Kentucky
Kenyon College
Lake Erie College
Lewis University
Lindenwood University
University of Louisiana-Monroe
University of Louisville
Loyola University-New Orleans
Macalester College
McDaniel College
Mercer University
Messiah College
Michigan Technological University
Midland University
Mount Aloysius College
College of Mount St. Joseph
University of New England
Northwestern College (MN)
Nova Southeastern University
Occidental College
Ohio Valley University
Ohio Wesleyan University
Pacific Lutheran University
Penn State Altoona
Rhodes College
Rice University
Rockhurst University
Rose-Hulman Inst. of Technology
University of St. Francis
St. John's University (MN)
The College of St. Rose
Seattle Pacific University
South Dakota State University
Southern Utah University
Springfield College
Stanford University
SUNY Geneseo
Stevens Institute of Technology
Taylor University
University of Texas
Texas Tech University
Trinity University (TX)
University of Utah
Vassar College
Washington University in St. Louis
Webster University
Western Michigan University
Westminster College
Wheaton College (IL)
Whitworth University
William and Mary
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire
Wittenberg University
Yeshiva University
Youngstown State University