Audit Critical Of Navy Security Review System - NBC Right Now/KNDO/KNDU Tri-Cities, Yakima, WA |

ADVERTISEMENT
Bookmark and Share

Audit Critical Of Navy Security Review System

Posted: Updated:
  • Audit Critical Of Navy Security Review SystemMore>>

  • Officials: Gunman Treated For Mental Health Issues

    Officials: Gunman Treated For Mental Health Issues

    Tuesday, September 17 2013 10:32 AM EDT2013-09-17 14:32:21 GMT
    WASHINGTON (AP) - U.S. law enforcement officials say that the Navy contractor identified as the gunman in the mass shootings at the Washington Navy Yard had been suffering a host of serious mental issues.
    More >>
    WASHINGTON (AP) - U.S. law enforcement officials are telling The Associated Press that the Navy contractor identified as the gunman in the mass shootings at the Washington Navy Yard had been suffering a host of serious mental issues, including paranoia and a sleep disorder.More >>

WASHINGTON (AP) - U.S. officials say a draft Defense Department audit criticizes one of the Navy's security review programs for lower level contractors. But that process was not the one used to evaluate the former reservist who gunned down 12 people Monday at the Washington Navy Yard.
    
Aaron Alexis, the 34-year-old information technology contractor involved in the shooting rampage, had a secret security clearance for his job. He went through a different, more extensive review.
    
The Defense Department Inspector General found that a separate system used to review some contractors did not properly vet the workers. That program is generally for contractors who don't have security clearances.
    
Officials described the audit on condition of anonymity because they were not authorized to discuss a draft report. He was granted the clearance in March 2008.

(Copyright 2013 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

HD DOPPLER 6i
/
  • Top Stories from KHQHomeMore>>

  • Good Samaritans save woman from verbal attack on Centennial Trail

    Good Samaritans save woman from verbal attack on Centennial Trail

    Friday, August 18 2017 2:37 AM EDT2017-08-18 06:37:45 GMT

    SPOKANE, Wash. - Evanlene Melting Tallow wanted to hit the centennial trail for a bike ride and train for her next cycling event. When she got to the end of the trail near Argonne road in Spokane Valley, what happened next left her in shock.   "He looked up and as soon as he seen me oh my gosh he started yelling at me started calling me a C*** and telling me to learn English and go back where I came from and a piece of dirt and all this other 

    More >>

    SPOKANE, Wash. - Evanlene Melting Tallow wanted to hit the centennial trail for a bike ride and train for her next cycling event. When she got to the end of the trail near Argonne road in Spokane Valley, what happened next left her in shock.   "He looked up and as soon as he seen me oh my gosh he started yelling at me started calling me a C*** and telling me to learn English and go back where I came from and a piece of dirt and all this other 

    More >>
  • Mad Minute stories from Thursday, August 17th

    Mad Minute stories from Thursday, August 17th

    Friday, August 18 2017 2:00 AM EDT2017-08-18 06:00:10 GMT
    Mad Minute for 12/30/16Mad Minute for 12/30/16

    Here are the extended versions of the KHQ Local News 11 at 11 Mad Minute stories from Thursday, August 17th.

    More >>

    Here are the extended versions of the KHQ Local News 11 at 11 Mad Minute stories from Thursday, August 17th.

    More >>
  • Family holds Christmas early for father with terminal cancer

    Family holds Christmas early for father with terminal cancer

    Friday, August 18 2017 1:15 AM EDT2017-08-18 05:15:03 GMT
    Courtesy Becky Odum's Facebook pageCourtesy Becky Odum's Facebook page

     FRISCO, Tex. - A Frisco, Texas family is having Christmas early this year, after receiving some unfortunate news- David Odum, husband and father, has been diagnosed with terminal cancer. According to Fox 4 News, the family has issued an online challenge, met by supporters across the globe.    David's wife Becky got out the Christmas decorations and took to Facebook to share David's diagnosis, asking for family and friends to hang up their 

    More >>

     FRISCO, Tex. - A Frisco, Texas family is having Christmas early this year, after receiving some unfortunate news- David Odum, husband and father, has been diagnosed with terminal cancer. According to Fox 4 News, the family has issued an online challenge, met by supporters across the globe.    David's wife Becky got out the Christmas decorations and took to Facebook to share David's diagnosis, asking for family and friends to hang up their 

    More >>