U.S. Announces Hockey Rosters for Sochi - NBC Right Now/KNDO/KNDU Tri-Cities, Yakima, WA |

U.S. Announces Hockey Rosters for Sochi

Posted: Updated:

ANN ARBOR, Mich. - The rosters are set for the U.S. Men's and Women's Olympic Hockey Teams.

The roster announcements were made after the NHL Winter Classic in Michigan. The teams will play for the gold medal in Sochi, but the men's roster will not include Ottawa Senators forward Bobby Ryan, a surprise omission for the 2010 Olympian.

Jimmy Howard, who was between the pipes for the Red Wings in Wednesday's Winter Classic, will be the Americans' third goaltender, joining Jonathan Quick and Ryan Miller. The remainder of the roster will include forwards David Backes, Dustin Brown, Ryan Callahan, Patrick Kane, Ryan Kesler, Phil Kessel, T.J. Oshie, Max Pacioretty, Zach Parise, Joe Pavelski, Paul Stastny, Derek Stepan, James van Riemsdyk and Blake Wheeler. John Carlson, Justin Faulk, Cam Fowler, Paul Martin, Ryan McDonagh, Brooks Orpik, Kevin Shattenkirk and Ryan Suter will be on defense for the Americans.

Meanwhile, eleven returning Olympians will be on the U.S. women's roster, including Julie Chu, who is headed to her fourth Olympics. She has already claimed one gold and two silvers.

The U.S. women's team will have seven defensemen, eleven forwards, and three goaltenders:

Amanda Kessel, Jesse Vetter, Molly Schaus, Brianne McLaughlin-Bittle, Kacey Bellamy, Meghan Duggan, Hilary Knight, Jocelyne Lamoureux, Monique Lamoureux, Gigi Marvin, and Kelli Stack.

The team has been training in Bedford, Mass. and will depart for Sochi on February 1st for its Olympic opener on February 8th against Finland.