Magnificent 7, Whitworth Wins NWC McIlroy-Lewis All-Sports Troph - NBC Right Now/KNDO/KNDU Tri-Cities, Yakima, WA |

Magnificent 7, Whitworth Wins NWC McIlroy-Lewis All-Sports Trophy

Posted: Updated:
Written By Whitworth Athletics

SPOKANE, Wash. – Whitworth University has captured the Northwest Conference McIlroy-Lewis All-Sports Trophy for the seventh consecutive year.

Pirate teams tallied 248 points in 2013-14 to outdistance runner-up PLU (201).  Click here for the official NWC press release and final standings:

“This recognizes excellence across all athletic programs in a very strong Northwest Conference,” said Melinda Larson, Whitworth’s Interim Director of Athletics. “The founding mission of Whitworth and the athletics philosophy serve as a strong undercurrent for the collective vision and dedication to excellence required to compete for this award each year. This is an honor for all of our coaches, student-athletes and staff as well as a tribute to the support that we receive from the entire campus community.”

Pirate teams collected three NWC team championships and six runner-up finishes this year.  Four other Whitworth squads took third place in the league standings.  Points are collected based on the final team finish in 18 varsity sports.

The NWC All-Sports Trophy recognizes athletic excellence among conference institutions across all fields of competition. It is named in honor of John Lewis, the baseball coach (1947-72), basketball coach (1947-67) and athletics director (1952- 72) at Willamette University; and Jane McIlroy, Linfield College's women's athletics director and physical education professor from 1950- 82 who also coached field hockey (1952-81), basketball, volleyball, softball and tennis.

Whitworth trailed Puget Sound after the fall season, but rallied to the top of the standings after a strong winter that included NWC titles in men’s swimming and men’s basketball, a runner-up finish in women’s swimming and a third-place spot for women’s basketball.

Whitworth added its third conference crown in the spring when men’s track and field claimed its fifth title in a row. 

“Although the wins and losses are impressive, I’m most thankful for our coaches and staff modeling Whitworth’s mission to honor God, follow Christ, and serve humanity,” said President Beck A. Taylor. “I couldn’t be more proud.”

Whitworth has now won the McIlroy-Lewis Trophy for seven consecutive years and eight times overall.  The Pirate Athletics Department first claimed the trophy in 2005 before starting the current streak in 2008.

2013-14 Final Results – (Team, Finish, Points)
Men’s Cross Country – 6th place (8 points)
Women’s Cross Country – 2nd (16)
Men’s Soccer – 2nd (16)
Women’s Soccer – 7th (6)
Football – 5th (10)
Volleyball – 3rd (14)
Men’s Swimming – 1st (18)
Women’s Swimming – 2nd (16)
Men’s Basketball – 1st (18)
Women’s Basketball – 3rd (14)
Baseball – 6th (8)
Softball – 3rd (14)
Men’s Tennis – 5th (10)
Women’s Tennis – 2nd (16)
Men’s Golf – 2nd (16)
Women’s Golf – 3rd (14)
Men’s Track & Field – 1st (18)
Women’s Track & Field – 2nd (16)