Carr A Finalist For IFL Hall Of Fame - NBC Right Now/KNDO/KNDU Tri-Cities, Yakima, WA |

Carr A Finalist For IFL Hall Of Fame

Posted: Updated:
The Indoor Football League (IFL) is proud to recognize the 10 finalists for the inaugural class of the IFL Hall of Fame.  

Finalists listed in alphabetical order;

Tommy Benizio (Former IFL Commissioner/IFL Team Owner)
Benizio co-founded the Intense Football League in 2003 with 6 charter teams.  He owned and operated the League as well as the Odessa Roughnecks.  He was named Executive of the year in 2006, the same year the Roughnecks won the 2006 Intense Bowl Championship.  Benizio was instrumental in building the relationships that led to the merger of the UIF and Intense League to create the IFL. Benizio was the first Commissioner of the IFL serving from 2008-2012.  Benizio is the current owner/operator of the IFL's Texas Revolution.

Mark Blackburn (LB, Sioux Falls Storm)
Blackburn is a four-time United Bowl Champion (2005-2008) and was named United Bowl Game MVP in 2008.  Blackburn was also a four-time All-League selection in the UIF (2005-2008).  For his career, Blackburn is the Storm's all-time leader in tackles (664), and forced fumbles (10).

Terrance Bryant (QB, Sioux Falls Storm)
Bryant's illustrious 7-year career began in 2005 with the Sioux Falls Storm. Bryant is a five-time United Bowl Champion (2005-2008, 2013), earning United Bowl Game MVP in 2006 and 2013. Bryant was an All-League Selection in the UIF during the 2006, 2007, and 2008 seasons and was named League MVP in 2006.  For his career, Bryant passed for 15,011 yards and 280 TDs.  

Teri Carr (IFL Team Owner, Tri-Cities Fever)
Under Carr's guidance, the Tri-Cities Fever are currently in their 10th season of play.  The Fever were crowned IntenseConferencee Champions during the 2011 and 2012 seasons.  In 2011, Carr was named IFL Executive of the Year.  In 2012, the Fever were named IFL Franchise of the Year.  Carr and the Fever have been and remain very active in the Tri-Cities community participating in charities such as; Jefferson Elementary After School Matters, Junior Achievements, the United Way, and raising money for Breast Cancer Awareness.

Art Clarkson (COO, Green Bay Blizzard)
Clarkson has 40+ years of professional sports experience.  He was a founding member of the UIF as a member of the Tennessee Valley Raptors.  Since 2010, Clarkson has been the Chief Operating Officer of the Green Bay Blizzard.  In 2011, the Blizzard were named IFL Franchise of the Year.  During the 2012 and 2013 seasons, the Blizzard were awarded Best Game Operations.

B.J. Hill (DB/KR, Green Bay Blizzard)
During four seasons with Green Bay, Hill was named to 5 All-IFL Teams. He was named the 2011 and 2013 Special Teams Player of the Year.  He holds numerous IFL career records including; most kick return yards in a career (3,412), tied for most kick return TDs in a career (13), highest kickoff return average in a season (23.2).  During his career, Hill registered 253 tackles and 20 INTs.

Ameer Ismail (LB, Tri-Cities Fever, Bloomington Edge, Chicago Slaughter)
During his IFL career, Ismail was a two-time First Team All-IFL selection. He was named IFL Defensive Player of the Year in 2012 as a member of the Bloomington Edge.  During his three year IFL career Ismail registered 357 tackles, 13.5 sacks, 6 INTs, and 5 forced fumbles.  Ismail currently serves as the Defensive Coordinator of the Cedar Rapids Titans.  

Demarcus James (DB/KR, Alaska Wild, Richmond Revolution, Colorado Ice)
James was a two-time First Team All-IFL selection.  In 2009, as a member of the Alaska Wild, James was named IFL Special Teams Player of the Year.  For his career, James tallied; 2,736 kick return yards, 13 kick return TDs (T-1st in IFL history), 167 tackles, and 12 INTs.

James Poynter (OL, Omaha Beef, Nebraska Danger)
Poynter was a valuable member of the offensive units for both the Beef and Danger.  He currently serves as an assistant coach for the Nebraska Danger.

Rich Roste (Radio Voice of the Sioux Falls Storm/15th Season)
Roste is the voice of the Sioux Falls Storm.  Roste is currently in his 15th season as the play-by-play broadcaster for the Storm.  He was named broadcaster of the year in 2005.  During his career, Roste has only missed two road games and has announced 8 of the 9 United Bowl Championship games.   

The three-member Inaugural Hall of Fame Class will be revealed next Thursday, June 12th.  IFL Fans are encouraged to assist in the selection process.  Fans can vote for Hall of Fame finalists via polls on the IFL’s official website,, and social media pages, Facebook and Twitter (@IndoorFtballLge), using the hashtag, #IFLHOF.