Nine educators to receive $1,000 check and prizes at Crystal App - NBC Right Now/KNDO/KNDU Tri-Cities, Yakima, WA |

Nine educators to receive $1,000 check and prizes at Crystal Apple Awards

Posted: Updated:

PASCO, WA - Unlike any teacher recognition program in the State, the Crystal Apple Awards is preparing to celebrate nearly two decades of excellence in education. The 19th Annual Crystal Apple Awards is set for Thursday, March 9th in Pasco, with big changes in store for this year's event.

The 2017 Crystal Apple Awards will kick off at 4:30 p.m. on March 9th at the Educational Service District (ESD) 123 Professional Development Center in Pasco, Washington. This is a new location for the awards, which began in 1999 in an effort to recognize some of the extraordinary local educators responsible for shaping our students' future. This year, Othello and Prosser School Districts both joined the award program.

One educator from each of the following nine school districts will be honored with the 2017 Crystal Apple Award: Columbia Burbank, Finley, Kennewick, Kiona-Benton, North Franklin, Othello, Pasco, Prosser, and Richland. (The winners have already been informed of their awards. See the attached list of 2017 Crystal Apple winners.)

With changes to the ceremony location, number of winners, and the application process, what remains the same is the purpose of the awards: to recognize public school educators who have made a positive impact on the lives of their students. These awards are sponsored by businesses, community service groups, and other organizations wishing to show their appreciation and support for outstanding teachers across our region. This year's winners bring the total number of Crystal Apple recipients to 219 since the program began in 1999.

The public is invited to attend the 2017 Crystal Apple Award ceremony from 4:30 p.m. to 6 p.m. on March 9th at ESD 123, located at 3924 W. Court St. in Pasco. For more information, contact Molly Curtiss at 509.544.5787 or