2005 Columbia Cup: Dave Villwock Wins in a New Boat - NBC Right Now/KNDO/KNDU Tri-Cities, Yakima, WA |

2005 Columbia Cup: Dave Villwock Wins in a New Boat

Posted: Updated:

Water Follies observers are calling it one of the best races they've ever seen in the 2005 Championship race.

Dave Villwock overtook the leader, Jean Theoret, to take home another Columbia Cup trophy in the Miss Elam. Theoret jumped out to a fast lead and led most of the way. Villwock was actually farther back in the pack, but kept coming and eventually overtook Theroet and the U-8 Llumar.

After the race, Theoret was assessed a one lap penalty and dropped down to 5th place.

An amazing job this week by the pit crew for the U-3. After breaking the gear box in its first time in the water, the crew worked all day Friday and Saturday and finally was able to put the boat in the water on Sunday. In the first heat, Jimmy King ran the U-3 hard, winning
Heat 2B

Here are the final point totals from Columbia Cup Weekend.

It was even a wilder ride in the
Unlimited Lights Championship race.

Greg Hopp finished first, but was hit with a penalty for entering the DMZ area that's off limits for boats. That meant Michael Flaherty in the bright red U-72 was the winner. The U-5 was also penalized.

Kamiakin High grad Vince Xaudaro finished second in the U-929. Richland resident Steve Hook made it to the finals, but did not finish.

  • Sign-Up for Hydro Email Updates

    * denotes required fields

    Thank you for signing up! You will receive a confirmation email shortly.