211 Phone Service Needs More Funding - NBC Right Now/KNDO/KNDU Tri-Cities, Yakima, WA |

211 Phone Service Needs More Funding

KENNEWICK, Wash. - The United Way is sending out a call to action. Staff claim without your help, the future of the 211 phone service may be in jeopardy.

The problem is Washington legislators didn't dedicate enough funding to help 211 keep meeting the growing needs of people living through out the state.

Last year legislators gave 211 $2.5 million. But the new budget requires 211 to make due with only $ 1 million a year.

Without necessary funds the United Way claims it can't expand to 24 hours a day, and will be forced to make cutbacks.

"Not everybody has problems between the hours of 8 a.m. and 4 p.m.  Many times people have problems early in the evening or they're working during the day, and they can't take the time to make that call to 211 to ask for help," said Beverly Weber, United Way of Benton and Franklin Counties, President.    

So the United Way is hoping people petition their state senators starting Wednesday at 3:30 p.m. until Thursday at 6 p.m. 

If you want to find out how to contact your senator you can call the state legislative hotline at 1-800-562-6000, or select your senator from the list below. 

Senator Jerome Delvin  (R) 8th District  1-360-786-7614   delvin.jerome@leg.wa.gov

Senator Jim Clements (R) 14th District  1-360-786-7626   clements.jim@leg.wa.gov

Senator Jim Honeyford (R) 15th District 1-360-786-7684  honeyford.jim@leg.wa.gov

Senator Janea Holmquist (R) 13th District  1-360-786-7624  holmquist.janea@leg.wa.gov

Senator Mark Schoesler (R) 9th District   1-360-786-7620   schoesler.mark@leg.wa.gov

Senator Mike Hewitt  (R) 16th District   1-360-786-7630    hewitt.mike@leg.wa.gov

 

HD DOPPLER 6i
/