Two Wildcats make All-GNAC Volleyball Team - NBC Right Now/KNDO/KNDU Tri-Cities, Yakima, WA |

Two Wildcats make All-GNAC Volleyball Team

Posted: Updated:
SPOKANE, Wash. (Nov. 17) -- Central Washington University senior Rachael Schurman (Spokane, Wash./Mead HS) and sophomore Brandie Vea (Honolulu, Hawaii/Kalani HS) have been named to the 2008 Great Northwest Athletic Conference Volleyball All-Conference Team, announced Monday by the conference office. 

Schurman, a middle blocker, and Vea, the Wildcats' libero, were among eight first-team all-conference players this season. Junior right-side hitter Erin Norris (Spokane, Wash./Mead HS) received honorable mention honors. 

Schurman was tabbed to the first team for the second consecutive season after leading the Wildcats in kills, hitting percentage, and blocks. She also ranked second on the team in service aces. Schurman totaled 310 kills, 105 blocks, and had a .295 hitting percentage to rank among the conference's top 10 in all three categories. Her blocks-per-set average of 0.98 ranked third in the GNAC. 

Vea had a standout campaign in her first season as a regular for the Wildcats. From her libero position, she set CWU single-season and single-match records for digs, finishing with an average of 6.08 digs per set to rank second in the conference. Her 626 total digs for the season were a new school record, and she shattered the CWU mark for digs in a single match when she had 50 in a four-set win over Sonoma State (Calif.) earlier this season. 

Norris ranked second on the Wildcats in kills (267) and hitting percentage (.227) while leading the team in service aces with 53. She also became the school's all-time leader in aces earlier this season and earned honorable mention all-conference recognition for the second consecutive season. 

Central Washington finished the 2008 season with a 16-12 overall record and in fifth place in the Great Northwest Athletic Conference with an 8-8 league record. The Wildcats lose six players to graduation from this year's squad. 

Player of the Year: Angie Alvord, Sr., Western Washington 
Newcomer of the Year: Calli Scott, Jr., Alaska Anchorage 
Freshman of the Year: Anna Herold, Seattle Pacific 
Coach of the Year: Brad Saindon, Western Oregon 

*Stacey Bennett, Western Oregon (OH, 6-3, Sr., Portland, Ore.); Rhea Cardwell, Alaska Anchorage (OH, 5-10, Sr., Prineville, Ore.); Devon Crotteau, Montana State Billings (OH, 6-0, Jr., Casper, Wyo.); *Angie Alvord, Western Washington (MB, 6-0, Sr., Laurel, Wash.); ++Cammy Dranginis, Northwest Nazarene (MB, 6-0, Jr., Nampa, Idaho) ; +Rachael Schurman, Central Washington (MB, 6-0, Sr., Spokane, Wash.); Korlyn Bolster, Alaska (MB, 6-1, Sr., Guerneville, Calif.); Brandie Vea, Central Washington (L, 5-3, So., Honolulu, Hawaii)

Kayla Mainer, Western Oregon (OH, 5-8, Sr., Spokane, Wash.); Nikki Finley, Seattle Pacific (OH, 5-9, Jr., Highlands Ranch, Colo.); Megan Amundson, Western Washington (OH, 5-11, So., Stanwood, Wash.); Lindsay Forseth, Northwest Nazarene (OH, 6-0, Jr., Nampa, Idaho); Tiana Roma, Western Washington (MB, 6-0, Sr., Edmonds, Wash.); Calli Scott, Alaska Anchorage (S, 5-9, Jr., Scottsdale, Ariz.); Allison Gotz, Western Washington (L, 5-3, So., Bothell, Wash.). 

Megan Thigpen, Alaska (OH, 5-10, Jr., Spokane, Wash.); Erin Norris, Central Washington (OH, 5-10, Jr., Spokane, Wash.); Lisa Martini, Western Oregon (OH, 5-8, Sr., Spokane, Wash.); Amanda Boschma, Northwest Nazarene (RS, 5-10, Sr., Kuna, Idaho); Cortney Lundberg, Alaska Anchorage (MB, 6-0, So., Hardin, Mont.); Robin De Jong, Seattle Pacific (MB, 5-10, Jr., Goleta, Calif.); Laura Sakala, Western Oregon (MB, 5-10, Jr., Beaverton, Ore.); Alexa Sherman, Alaska (S, 5-9, Jr., Calabasas, Calif.); Joelle Perez, Seattle Pacific (S, 5-9, So., Vancouver, Wash.); Amy Herron, Western Oregon (S, 5-5, Jr., Spokane, Wash.); Kari Rice, Western Washington (S, 5-10, Jr., Toppenish, Wash.); Anna Herold, Seattle Pacific (L, 5-8, Fr., Bothell, Wash.); Theresia Dever, Saint Martin's (L, 5-7, Fr., Bremerton, Wash.). 

*Unanimous + - Repeater ++ - Two-time repeater