Reilly and Bronson headline CWU All-Region Selections - NBC Right Now/KNDO/KNDU Tri-Cities, Yakima, WA |

Reilly and Bronson headline CWU All-Region Selections

Posted: Updated:

BROOKINGS, S.D. - The list of accolades continue to roll in for the Central Washington University football team, as seniors Jared Bronson (Kent, Wash./Thomas Jefferson HS) and Mike Reilly (Kalispell, Mont./Flathead HS) were both named to the Daktronics, Inc. Division II All-Super Regional Four first team, announced Tuesday.

In addition to Bronson and Reilly's first-team selections, four Wildcats were named to the Daktronics all-region second team. Juniors Garrett Rolsma (University Place, Wash./Curtis HS), Courtney Smith (Stockton, Calif./East Union HS), Johnny Spevak (Edgewood, Wash./Puyallup HS) and Buddy Wood (Chattaroy, Wash./Riverside HS) also earned all-region status.

The team, which is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged leader in scoring, timing, and programmable display systems, is voted on by members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Central Washington's six total selections on the Daktronics team were tied for the second-most in the region, trailing only Abilene Christian, which had nine all-region picks including seven on the first team. Regional champion and current national semifinalist Northwest Missouri State joined CWU with six all-region selections on the Daktronics team.

Reilly, who is one of three finalists for the Harlon Hill Trophy as the national Player of the Year for Division II football, was previously named the Great Northwest Athletic Conference Offensive Player of the Year after throwing for a career-high 3,706 yards in helping lead Central Washington to a second consecutive NCAA Division II playoff berth and a 10-2 record. He finished his career ranked third in Division II history in career passing yards and total offense.

A tight end, Bronson earned all-region honors despite missing more than 4 1/2 games due to injury this season. He was the Wildcats' second-leading receiver in terms of receiving yards (502) and was fourth in receptions (28). Bronson saved his best collegiate performance for last, nabbing a career-best eight receptions for 169 yards in Central's 49-42 loss to West Texas A&M in the first round of the NCAA Division II playoffs.

Rolsma, Smith, and Spevak all set records during the 2008 season. Rolsma, the Wildcats' junior kicker, made all 63 of his extra-point attempts and set a school and conference kick-scoring record with 108 points. He was also 15 of 20 on field goals and will carry a streak of 66 consecutive made PATs into his senior season in 2009.

Smith earned second-team recognition as a return specialist. The junior, who had previously been a first-team all-conference choice as a kick returner and defensive back, had two kick return touchdowns this season and finished with an average of 38.5 yards per return on 12 returns. Three of his kick returns on the season were for 80 or more yards, including scoring runbacks of 95 and 98 yards.

Spevak set a single-season record with 1,448 receiving yards and tied the school's mark for receiving touchdowns with 20. He was the lone Wildcat receiver to start every game this season, and his 91 receptions were the third-most in school history. On the career charts, Spevak has moved into second place for career 100-yard receiving games, receptions, and receiving touchdowns with one season of eligibility remaining.

Wood was one of several defensive mainstays for the Wildcats, leading the team in tackles for the second consecutive season. He started all 12 games at weak-side linebacker, totaling 95 tackles including 7 1/2 tackles for loss and five quarterback sacks. He also led the team and GNAC with five fumble recoveries and tied for the team lead with three forced fumbles.

In addition to their on-field successes, the quartet of Bronson, Reilly, Rolsma, and Spevak are also academic standouts, earning CoSIDA/ESPN The Magazine Academic All-District VIII College Division honors earlier this season.

Central Washington loses 11 seniors to graduation from its 2008 team that went undefeated Great Northwest Athletic Conference play under first-year head coach Blaine Bennett.


Offensive Player of the Year: Bernard Scott, Sr., Abilene Christian (Texas)

Defensive Player of the Year: Myles Burnsides, Jr., Northwest Missouri State

Mike Reilly, Sr., Central Washington. Running Back: Bernard Scott, Sr., Abilene Christian (Texas); LaRon Council, Jr., Northwest Missouri State. Wide Receiver: Charly Martin, Sr., West Texas A&M; Johnny Knox, Sr., Abilene Christian (Texas). Tight End: Jared Bronson, Sr., Central Washington. Offensive Line: Sam Collins, Sr., Abilene Christian (Texas); Jeremy Davis, Sr., Northwest Missouri State; Kendall Molz, Sr., Pittsburg State (Kan.); Joseph Thompson, Sr., Abilene Christian (Texas); Tony Washington, Jr., Abilene Christian (Texas). Place Kicker: Matt Adams, Sr., Abilene Christian (Texas). Return Specialist: Kendall Wright, Sr., Northwest Missouri State.


Defensive Line: Ricky Hope, Sr., Texas A&M-Commerce; Sean Paddock, Jr., Northwest Missouri State; Aston Whiteside, Fr., Abilene Christian (Texas). Linebacker: Jared Brawner, Jr., Missouri Southern State; Jared Brock, Sr., West Texas A&M; Ruzell McCoy, Sr., Southwestern Oklahoma State; Zach Watkins, Jr., Washburn (Kan.). Cornerback: Cameron Sparks, Southeastern Oklahoma State; Tramaine Wright, Sr., Tarleton State (Texas). Safety: Myles Burnsides, Jr., Northwest Missouri State; Jabir Perkins, Sr., Texas A&M-Kingsville. Punter: Jamie Hanson, Sr., Missouri Western State.

Billy Malone, Sr., Abilene Christian (Texas). Running Back: Caleb Farabi, Sr., Pittsburg State (Kan.); Brian McNeill, Sr., Nebraska-Omaha. Wide Receiver: Tim Richmond, Jr., Central Missouri; Johnny Spevak, Jr., Central Washington. Tight End: Joe Sawyer, Jr., Southwestern Oklahoma State. Offensive Line: Roger Allen, Sr., Missouri Western State; Devin Livingston, Sr., Tarleton State (Texas); Corey Perkins, Sr., Western Oregon; Tom Pestock, Sr., Northwest Missouri State; J'Marcus Webb, Jr., West Texas A&M. Place Kicker: Garrett Rolsma, Jr., Central Washington. Return Specialist: Courtney Smith, Jr., Central Washington.


Defensive Line: Matt Cox, Sr., Western Oregon; Jermelle Cudjo, Jr., Central Oklahoma; Jamaal Steamer, Jr., Tarleton State (Texas). Linebacker: K.C. Asiodu, Sr., Central Oklahoma; Mike Kern, Sr., Abilene Christian (Texas); Marcus Phillips, Jr., Tarleton State (Texas); Buddy Wood, Jr., Central Washington. Cornerback: Braelon Davis, Jr., West Texas A&M; C.J. Lovett, Jr., Fort Hays State (Kan.). Safety: Bernard Daniel, Jr., Southeastern Oklahoma State; Alex Kuhlman, So., Pittsburg State (Kan.). Punter: Cody Smith, Jr., Texas A&M-Kingsville.


Abilene Christian (Texas) 9 (7 first-team, 2 second-team), Northwest Missouri State 6 (5-1), Central Washington 6 (2-4), West Texas A&M 4 (2-2), Tarleton State (Texas) 4 (1-3), Pittsburg State (Kan.) 3 (1-2), Missouri Western State 2 (1-1), Southeastern Oklahoma State 2 (1-1), Southwestern Oklahoma State 2 (1-1), Texas A&M-Kingsville 2 (1-1), Central Oklahoma 2 (0-2), Western Oregon 2 (0-2), Missouri Southern State 1 (1-0), Texas A&M-Commerce 1 (1-0), Washburn (Kan.) 1 (1-0), Central Missouri 1 (0-1), Fort Hays State (Kan.) 1 (0-1), Nebraska-Omaha 1 (0-1).